130810 Today’s prompt is “red” … instead I’m going show you some spiders.

dsc_0438

I always have to take a closer look …

dsc_0433

dsc_0425

Top one is some kind of social spider – I spotted at least 4-5 (females?) living in that one cobweb seen in the first photo – Like a little arachnid apartment complex!  Pretty sure the bottom one is a silver garden orbweaver.  The criss-cross strands of silk you see is called the stabilimentum (great vocab word, no?).

dsc_0439

Burs: the price you pay for being a little adventurous.  But hey, I’d rather have a few of these stuck to my pants than fire ant bites on my toes.

ABfooter3

Leave a Reply

