Red-Bellied Woodpecker

After returning home from my ride this weekend, I stepped out of the car and something hopping around the trees caught my eye …

To my delight, I discovered it was a red-bellied woodpecker foraging for foodstuffs among the leaves.  I ran inside, grabbed my Dad’s old telephoto lens (which is barely compatible with my camera body) and snapped a few photos.dsc_1033a dsc_1040aNot too shabby considering it was my first time actually using the lens to shoot something I cared about – These were taken sans auto-focus, light metering or tripod :)

Leave a Reply

