Fresh Ginger Iced Tea

I love ginger.

I also have a tendency to add about 2-3x more than I should to any recipe that calls for it – Which (admittedly) isn’t always a good thing since using a little bit of this spice usually goes a long way …

So when I spotted this ginger iced tea recipe, which actually gives you permission to use an entire half cup (!) of fresh ginger, I knew I had to give it a try.

After giving the recipe a few tweaks, I brewed my own batch and was super happy with the results!

Sweet, spicy and cool – I promise, this is the most refreshing drink you will sip on this summer …

Ingredients: (makes about 9 cups)

  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh ginger
  • 5-6 black tea bags (I recommend Darjeeling)
  • 1 cup sugar (reduce this if you prefer your tea less sweetened)
  • water (about 9 cups total)
  • ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Combine 1 cup water with sugar in a saucepan.  Stir over high heat until sugar dissolves.
  2. Remove sugar mixture from burner and add chopped fresh ginger.  Steep ginger for at least 10 minutes or until syrup cools to room temperature.
  3. Meanwhile, bring 8 cups water to a boil.  Once boiling, transfer water to a large pitcher containing the tea bags.  Stir and allow tea to steep for 5-6 minutes, then remove tea bags.
  4. Strain ginger from sugar mixture and combine the ginger-sugar syrup with the tea in the large pitcher.
  5. Stir to combine and place tea in the fridge for a few hours until cool.
  6. Serve over ice and enjoy!

11 comments

  1. Ooh this looks delicious! I love ginger too, and always kill my husband with the over-gingering of things. I’m going to try this just for me, since he doesn’t like iced tea, or ginger. Silly man.

  2. Pingback: Tea, and summer! « Enter, Fitness!

  3. Pingback: Nip Time Out of your Busy Schedule to Sip Some Tea | Orange County Concierge

  4. Pingback: The perfect cup of tea.. | Snaps and Stuff

  5. Pingback: Best of 2012 | What. No Mints?


Leave a Reply

