Iced Café con Leche

Since moving to the Miami area, café con leche (literally translated means “coffee with milk”) has become one of my early morning guilty pleasures.

I first discovered it while on line at the Café Bustelo coffee place on campus.  Having gotten up at 5:30am that morning, all I wanted was a cup of regular coffee to give me the caffeine boost I needed to start the day.  While waiting for my turn to order, I noticed that nearly everyone in line in front of me was ordering “café con leche” – Apparently that was the thing to get, so I followed suit.

After taking that first hot, frothy and ever-so-slightly-sweetened sip, I knew I was hooked.

The following is my pretty-decent attempt at recreating the café con leche flavor profile over ice:

Ingredients:

  • espresso or finely-ground coffee (I used Lavazza Café Espresso)
  • sweetened condensed milk
  • milk (I used 2% because that is what we have on hand)
  • ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Brew espresso or very strong coffee.  I prepare mine with a standard drip coffee maker by using 2 coffee filters and adding additional ground coffee to the top to amp up the strength.
  2. Fill a mug halfway with your prepared coffee.
  3. Add about 1 tablespoon sweetened condensed milk to the mug and stir until dissolved (add more if you like it sweeter).
  4. Fill the mug the rest of the way with milk and stir to combine.
  5. Fill a glass with ice cubes.
  6. Pour milk/coffee mixture over the ice and stir with a spoon to cool.
  7. Relax and enjoy!

To save myself time, I added a few tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk to the leftover coffee in the carafe, stirred to dissolve and popped it in the fridge for safe-keeping.  Now in the morning all I have to do is pour over ice, add a bit of milk and I’m ready to go!

Hope you liked my version of café con leche – Feel free to leave any tips or suggestions in the comments!

6 comments

    • Haha – Before this I never really worked with sweetened condensed milk – But I think it works perfectly here. Adds some smoothness with a hint of sweet :P Let me know how it goes!!

      • It was divine! Needed a boost after running errands, and this hit the spot. Luckily I had SCM in the pantry; I use it for baking from time to time.

        Thanks for the recipe, it will be a daily bit of yumminess. Can’t go back to regular coffee after this.

    • Tried cold brew coffee once and it didn’t turn out so good – I’ll have to try this method and see how it turns out – I’ve also been meaning to get a can of Cafe Bustelo … Thanks for the link Camille!


Leave a Reply

