Let’s … Read?

Jim and I don’t do anything for Valentine’s Day.

No, instead we choose to wait until February 15th to go to the store and buy all of our favorite V-Day candy that goes on clearance!  Cheap and delicious – Huzzah!

Despite my indifference towards V-Day, I wanted to share with you an unusual message stamped on a heart Jim and I found in a box of candy sweethearts back in 2006:

Even the Pet Rock Plush is bemused.

That’s right, it’s says “LET’S READ” … umm, what?

I mean we both enjoy reading, but I don’t really think of it as a group activity, let alone an activity that should be brought to your attention on Valentine’s Day.

Needless to say, neither of us could actually eat this find – So I’ve saved it in one of my jewelry boxes for the past 5 years.  We aren’t really sure what to do with it – Perhaps display it in a shadow box?  I’m not sure.

Has anyone else ever seen this quote on a sweetheart??

3 comments

  1. Let’s read…nutrition information…love notes…??? Anyway, I have not seen a candy sweetheart like this before so I am as bemused as your adorable pet rock (is he taken???…ooops, that’s my singleton self talking). In a shadowbox sounds great or in one of those lockets…maybe something like this, if it fits http://www.etsy.com/listing/62856641/round-clear-glass-memory-locket-pendant?ref=v1_other_2

    Happy Valentine’s Day and have fun choosing candy on sale tomorrow!

  2. I love “let’s read”! Reminds me of another random message from a jokester in the food industry… The 9 year old son of a friend of mine recently opened a fortune cookie that said “Help! I’m trapped inside this fortune cookie factory!” – He couldn’t stop giggling!


Leave a Reply

