Reminiscing: The Parking Garage

This weekend was a lazy one spent reclining on the couch with Jim and I watching various documentaries and catching up on our TV shows.

Sunday morning we slept in late and enjoyed a round of my Vanilla Bean Pancakes for breakfast.  Then, we watched an awesome documentary entitled “The Parking Lot Movie“.  Yes, a film about parking lot attendants.

I think most viewers would find the movie amusing at the very least, but Jim and I have a special understanding of the life of a parking attendant – Because we both worked at the campus parking garages when we were at Delaware.  Being an attendant is by far the best job for a college student.  You literally get paid to do absolutely nothing.  Worked perfectly for me because I was able to get the vast majority of homework done working 8pm to 2am shifts by myself.  We would also download our favorite TV shows and watch them for hours on end to pass the time, taking a ticket here and there.

My favorite part of this movie is that it brilliantly covers the feeling of righteous indignation car owners get when you ask them to pay a small fee for putting their car somewhere they KNOW is a paid lot.  It would amaze you some of the things people insist you do or do not do because they believe that, because they are the customer, they are automatically right …

My first and most memorable encounter with such a person was when I was working a night shift and a woman came to the window and declared that she had lost her ticket … I told her that she would have to fill out a form and pay a fee for the lost ticket.  Of course she thought this was the most outrageous thing she had ever heard and began to make a big stink about it, causing her posse of lady friends to gather around and begin yelling at me to simply let her out.  I told them that I could get fired for doing that but they did not want to hear it.  After going back and forth for a while, the woman exclaimed “Well, it’s MY BIRTHDAY!”.

* * *

Okay, did she want a friggin’ cake?  I failed to see how her day of birth related to the fact that she had lost her parking ticket.  I sort of blinked at her for a moment and insisted that she had to fill out the form.

In the end she did, huffing and puffing the whole time – God forbid I had inconvenienced her for 10 minutes when she was the one who lost her ticket in the first place (despite signs posted all over the garage telling you to keep track of it).

It really is amazing the sense of entitlement people have over goofy, insignificant things such as a pathetic parking ticket.

Oy vey.

Anyway, this movie is pretty great and if you get a chance you should check it out.

6 comments

  1. laughing! i worked my way through college at a public library. people have been known to behave similarly when you try to collect even the most meager overdue fine. OY!


Leave a Reply

