Christmas [Part 2]: Gifts & Goodies!

First of all, I am quite proud of the creative and cheap wrapping techniques we used when packaging gifts this Christmas.

The only thing I bought was a roll of red and white baker’s twine to add a little festive touch to some gifts – The rest of the wrapping material comes from brown paper bags from the grocery store, sheets of magazine pages that have been taped together, bits of ribbon from packages I have received and other recycled pieces of paper.

As you can tell from my Holiday Blog Hop post, this year was all about the handmade gifts for me.  I both gave and received some pretty amazing goodies from indie artisans:

Awesome necklace from my sister!

I couldn't wait to wear it!

Cozy, upcycled mittens from Jim's Mom!

We also had fun tormenting my Dad’s dog, Tucker.

I gave my sister a silly plush by Fluffy Flowers. She thought it was hilarious.

Jim wearing his new ugly Christmas sweater tee by Vardagen.

And finally, I treated myself to a little something! – I have been looking for a pair of tall, leather boots for a while now, and I swore to myself that I would not pay an arm and a leg for Fryes … But I confess, I broke down and bought some … At a very affordable price on eBay!

They smell deliciously leathery, keep my toes toasty warm and just look badass – They are a little more red than I was anticipating from the online photo, but I have grown very fond of them and, since I tend to wear mostly neutral “boring” colors, I think these little boots will add a nice pop of rusty color.

What sort of awesome goodies did Santa bring you this year?

Where you can find some of the gifts you see here:

2 comments

  1. First off, I LOVE your Frye boots. The rust color is quite classy and not at all boring. I like the pebbled/tumbled texture on the leather Expect a lot of compliments when you wear these around town.

    I love the way you wrapped your gifts and also the presents you chose. You have inspired a lot of us to be more creative and resourceful this holiday season!

    • Aww – Thanks so much Christine!! I am totally happy with the boots – My feet stay nice and warm in lab now (I don’t know about your lab, but they always seem to keep the temperature super chilly in here …).

      I was actually inspired by fellow handmade sellers when wrapping my gifts this year – Everyone in the indie biz is so creative when it comes to even the most basic things, like packaging – Glad I could inspire some of you!!


Leave a Reply

