Lemon-Poppy Seed Biscotti Recipe (Hand-Drawn Edition)

I have been meaning to get this recipe up for a while now because it has become my official holiday cookie (and it was also requested by my friend Kristina over at Gugelhupf)!

This recipe post also features hand-drawn images by yours truly because I left my camera at my Dad’s house this weekend (oops.) – So please enjoy my terrible illustrations!

Biscotti on a plate.

[Recipe is pretty much an exact replica of the one found in the Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book]

Ingredients: (makes approx. 50 cookies)

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 6 tbsp. butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp. poppy seeds
  • zest of 2 lemons
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and lightly grease a large cookie sheet (I use a silicone baking pad instead, if you have one of these pads, use it.)

2.  Combine and mix flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

3.  In another bowl, whisk the eggs and yolks.  Add the eggs to the dry ingredients and briefly mix to combine.

4.  Add the melted butter, lemon zest, lemon juice and poppy seeds to the dry ingredient/egg mixture and use a fork to integrate the ingredients until the dough starts to form little balls.

5.  Divide the dough into 3 equal portions and knead each portion in your hands until it feels like a uniform, Play-Doh-like consistency.

6.  Shape each portion into a long, thin loaf on your cookie sheet.  Each loaf should be approximately 14 inches long and 1 1/2 inches wide and no closer than 2 inches apart.  I am able to fit all 3 loafs on one cookie tray, but if you fear you won’t have enough room, you can always use another cookie sheet!

Loaves on cookie sheet.

7.  Pop the loaves in the oven for 25-30 minutes, until you see the base of the loaves turn light brown and they are firm to the touch.

8.  Allow the loaves to cool for about 15 minutes, then use a serrated knife to cut them diagonally in about 1 inch slices (do not wait until the loaves have cooled to cut them, or they will just crumble all over the place, you must slice them when they are still warm so you end up with neat, clean cuts).

9.  Place slices back on cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes, flip the cookies over and bake for another 10 minutes or so.

10.  At this point, the cookies will probably still feel soft to the touch, allow them to cool to room temperature and they will firm up and harden.

Hooray biscotti!! These little treats would be the perfect gift paired with tea or coffee for a person you care about – Or just munch on and enjoy them yourself!

Wrapped and ready to give!

Last year I started this “tradition” (I don’t know if 2 years in a row constitutes a “tradition”, but whatever) and I like to mix it up by making different types of biscotti for my family – Here are some additional flavors I have come up with:

  • Salted Dark Chocolate-Dipped – Leave out the lemon and poppy seeds and dip cooled biscotti in melted dark chocolate and sprinkle with kosher salt.
  • Lime-Macadamia Nut – Instead of lemon and poppy seeds, incorporate limes and chopped macadamia nuts into the dough.

As I write this I am waiting for my chocolate-dipped biscotti to cool, but when they are ready I will package them up in little brown paper bags and tie a little tag to them with twine so the recipients know what kinds of biscotti are inside!

If you have any questions, please leave them in the comments section!

5 comments

    • Haha – Thanks :) I knew I wanted to at least show readers how to press out the loaves on to the cookie sheet so I drew up that one – Then made a couple more for good measure!

  1. “Salted Dark Chocolate-Dipped – Leave out the lemon and poppy seeds and dip cooled biscotti in melted dark chocolate and sprinkle with kosher salt.”

    Um…YUM! These would be the cookies I’d buy that fancy salt I read about, Maldon I think, to top.

    And I love the illustrations…actually, I think yours are much clearer than some cookbooks I’ve tried to use before!

    • I made the Salted Dark Chocolate ones this year and they are already turning out to be a big hit!! I was considering fancy salt, but ran out of time :P I’m putting together Christmas pictures for a post in a day or so and I hope to include some photos of the actual biscotti.

  2. Pingback: Christmas [Part 1]: Homemade Goodies « What. No Mints?


Leave a Reply

