Florida Trip in Review!

Finally!

Saturday:

So the craft show went pretty well and I had so much fun because I was in the same room as one of my favorite fellow Etsy sellers: Little Batch!  I bought a bunch of things from her (of course) and immediately opened her Pumpkin Vanilla Face Mask that night and put it on before my shower – Loved it – My face felt so clean and refreshed!!

After the show, I organized the apartment, cleaned my fish tanks, checked my No Mints inventory, packed our bags and went to bed around 1:00am only to …

Sunday:

… Wake up at 4:30am!  Ugh … So we drove to the train station, hopped the train to the airport, boarded our plane and pretty much fell asleep after take-off.  After landing, we picked up our rental car and drove to the hotel.  The view from our room was phenomenal:

By this time we were starving (we only had a bowl of Alphabits – Yes, Alphabits – at 4:30 that morning …) so we found a place to eat for lunch and picked up bagels and cream cheese for breakfast for the next few days, then came back to the room and relaxed.

Monday:

Jim woke up with excruciating back spasms which eventually calmed down enough for him to make it to the jacuzzi near the pool – Which worked wonders! (Who needs a doctor when you have a hot tub?).

I presented our research at the ASCO Meeting on Molecular Markers in Cancer that evening and had a bunch of interested attendees come up and talk to me, which was a great experience.  My public speaking and interaction abilities just get better and better with each one of these events, which I’m very happy about since they are definitely skills I needed to work on.

Jim’s back was feeling much better by the time my presentation was over (Whew!) and we ate tasty sushi and delicious steamed and salted edamame (which I need to figure out how to make at home …) at one of the hotel restaurants that night.

Tuesday:

We went swimming and walked on the beach for a little bit in the morning, then checked out of the hotel.

After meeting with the first FIU professor, we checked into a second hotel closer to the FIU main campus for the last night.  After a Five Guys Burger dinner and a smoothie for dessert, we stayed in for the night, catching up on Mad Men and the Inbetweeners.

Wednesday:

Up early again to meet the second professor from FIU! I learned more about the program itself and one of the graduate students took some time to show me around campus while I asked her questions about what it’s like to study there.  I gained a lot of insight into FIU and graduate school in general and I can’t thank them enough for being so accommodating.

After our visit on campus, Jim and I headed back to the airport, returned the car and got in line for security … when I realized I forgot my cell phone in the rental.  Luckily, Enterprise is nice enough to FedEx it to me so it’s on its way!

Things I Learned From This Trip:

  • Bring snacks on the plane (they don’t even give you peanuts or pretzels anymore … WTF).
  • Hot tubs are an excellent substitute for muscle relaxing medication.
  • I need to learn how to prepare salted and steamed edamame at home.
  • FIU’s environmental chemistry program and faculty seem like they would be a great fit for me …
  • … if I am able tolerate the copious amounts of traffic and scorching Florida heat (I found myself really missing my cool-weather autumn back home).
  • Triple-check the rental car before turning it in.

It was by no means a put-your-feet-up-and-relax kind of trip, but we had a great time, my presentation went well and we got a pretty good feel for what living in the Miami area is like.

Leave a Reply

