Raspberry & Vanilla Bean Muffins

My Mom recently gave me a bag of vanilla beans because she ordered some for herself in bulk and had some left over.  Not really knowing what to do with them I decided to make muffins (who doesn’t like muffins?).  I wanted to jazz them up a bit so I decided to add some raspberries to the mix!  (Recipe adapted from the Better Homes & Gardens New Cook Book)

Half-Eaten Muffin - Mmm ... :)

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw, plain granulated works just fine)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup cooking oil
  • 1 vanilla bean pod, cut down the middle and vanilla beans scraped out
  • 5 oz fresh raspberries

Muffin Close-Up

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Grease 12 muffin cups or line with paper and set aside.
  2. In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Whisk to combine.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine egg, milk, oil and vanilla beans.  Whisk to combine.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients all at once and stir with spoon, batter should be lumpy.
  5. Add fresh raspberries and fold gently, just enough to combine.
  6. Spoon batter into muffin cups. (I was able to make 10 muffins, the original recipe says it makes 12 – Use your judgement)
  7. Bake in oven for 18-20 minutes, muffins are done when a butter knife (or toothpick) comes out clean.  (18-20 minutes is the time the original recipe suggests, it only took 16 minutes in my oven.  I suggest checking your muffins after 15 minutes of baking and add time accordingly.)
  8. Enjoy!

Top View

Enjoy for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, a snack, whenever!

Hope you like them as much as we do!

4 comments

    • No problem! My boyfriend, Jim, is a HUGE fan of raspberries (he even has an excited “raspberry face” he makes at the mention of them, haha) so he loves them too – They’re a good mix of sweet and tart!

  1. Where did your mom order vanilla beans in bulk?? I am a sucker for a good muffin and must try to make some of these! (Or a whole wheat oatmeal version, anyway.)

    • Next time I talk to her I will have to ask – I’m not sure where she got them but I will find out for you! And the whole-wheat version of this muffin sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

