In the Not-Too-Distant Future …

So I’ve been saving up this post for a slow day … I want to share Jim’s and my infatuation with the late 80s to 90s TV show, Mystery Science Theater 3000 (or “MST3K” for short!).  If you haven’t heard of this glorious comedy show, the premise is basically as follows:

A guy (either Joel or Mike, depending on the year) and his sidekick robots are trapped in a space station called the “Satellite of Love” and are forced to watch terrible horror/sci fi B-movies by an evil scientist.  To help themselves get through these awful features, they provide a hilarious running commentary and make quick, witty, wisecrack remarks about the flaws of the movie (with short skits at intermissions).

From Left: Crow, Joel and Tom Servo (source)

If you enjoy quick and witty humor I HIGHLY suggest you get a hold of some episodes on Netflix (we receive and watch at least 1 episode per week …)!

They also throw in the occasional appetizer before the full-length movie and riff smaller clips (or “shorts”).  My favorite short is called Gumby (yes, as in the claymation Gumby) in Robot Rompus – Click to laugh:

(Seriously, if you haven’t watched the Gumby short yet – Click it now. It’s only 6 minutes people and I promise you won’t regret it!)

Okay!  Now that I have only exposed you to the tip of the MST3K iceberg, I will give you my …

Top 4 Favorite MST3K Episodes:

4.  Pod People

Pod People

3.   Manos: The Hands of Fate

Manos: The Hands of Fate

2.  Time Chasers

Time Chasers

1.  Space Mutiny

Space Mutiny

(Sorry for the not-so-great quality of some of the photos … These movies were made a while ago before fancy CGI)

Jim first introduced me to MST3K with Time Chasers and I was instantly hooked!  I hope I opened the eyes of some new fans out there :)

4 comments

  1. Ahhh! My boyfriend and I just discovered that they have MST3K episodes on Netflix and I nearly lost my mind! It’s totally my sense of humor! My favorite of all time is “Soultaker”. I highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it! :)

    Happy blogging!

    • OMG!! We JUST watched “Soultaker” a week or 2 ago – It was pretty awesome and I was considering adding it as the “5th” on my list but there are so many that I love it was hard to choose more than 4 – Too funny! I hope this post brings some more fellow MST3K fans out of the woodwork – Thanks for your post! I always get so excited when someone else shares my love of this show!

  2. This looks hilarious! I’ve never heard of it before. I can’t wait to check it out. I love their robot silhouettes in the theatre shots!


Leave a Reply

