Tangy & Fresh: Homemade Dill Pickles!

So a few weeks ago my Mom decided to make her own dill pickles using this recipe and gave a small batch to me – They were delicious!  Who knew pickles could be so crunchy and fresh and light!  My sister has since made a few batches herself and even gave our Dad some for Father’s Day.  Last Friday I was picking up a few things for dinner at the Farmer’s Market and discovered that they had fresh dill for sale – So I figured I should get in on the action and try making some of these amazing pickles myself!

Just so you know – I tripled the amount of the original recipe (but actually used one less cuke) and as you will see the amount of pickling liquid I made still wasn’t enough.  Next time I make this I will probably make 4x or 5x the pickling liquid of what the recipe calls for – I want my cucumbers to be submerged in a pickle bath.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups white vinegar
  • 2 rounded tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seed
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 6 cloves peeled and cracked garlic (you are supposed to use 3 cloves, but I LOVE garlic so I always double or triple what a recipe asks for, if you are not as garlic-crazy as I, just use 3 cloves!)
  • 6 tablespoons chopped fresh dill leaves (don’t cut corners with this ingredient – Fresh dill is a must)
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 3 kirby cucumbers cut into 1/2 inch discs

Ingredients Needed for Pickles!

Close-Up of Sugar, Salt, Mustard Seed & Dill

Directions

1.  Heat vinegar in a sauce pan over medium-high heat and add sugar, salt, mustard seed and garlic and bring the mixture to a simmer.

2.  Toss chopped dill, bay leaves and sliced cucumbers in a heat-proof bowl (or glass screw-top container for easy storage and gift-giving, I used a Corningware container with a lid).

Cukes, Dill & Bay Leaves

3.  Carefully pour the hot vinegar mixture over the ingredients in the bowl and stir to combine.

All Ingredients Mixed

4.  Allow to cool to room temperature then place in the fridge overnight.  (The original recipe says you can serve as soon as it’s cooled, but I suggest waiting at least 1 day before eating.  The vinegar can be a bit too strong and waiting a couple days allows the mixture to relax and the flavors to integrate.)

Enjoy your pickles and share with loved ones!

2 comments

  1. These look really good! I wonder if you could can them (especially if you added more pickling liquid to get the necessary headroom in the jars)? Maybe I will try later this week, and I’ll let you know how it goes.

    • I would think so – My Mom and sister made theirs in jars (which is definitely the way to do it, but I couldn’t wait long enough to go out and buy some … Haha) They are so tasty and yeaa definitely let me know how yours go!


Leave a Reply

