Today

Today I had a complete breakdown.

I’m actually kind of surprised it took me this long.

I have worked until the brink of exhaustion every day for the past month trying not to fall behind with my research and classes and teaching duties.  This semester is no joke.

Today, I realized I made a relatively minor mistake during one of my experiments and it completely unravelled me.  I immediately felt overwhelmed and extremely tired and couldn’t stop tearing up.  That’s right, science made me cry.

With a few supportive words from Sara, Aly and Olivia, I took off early – Drove home with the windows down and The Black Keys all the way up.  After a 3-mile run, I was feeling much more like myself again.  Jim prepared a delicious dinner for me (Thank you, love!) and now as I type this, I have all but forgotten my lab troubles.

I don’t really know what the point of this post is, but I just wanted to say thank you to all those who are keeping me sane – It’s easy to forget the importance of taking time for yourself.

4 comments

  1. So happy to hear you are feeling better. I know that feeling and it’s not a fun one. I had a similar breakdown this weekend and as much as it sucks to cry it does help to get it out. Sometimes you just need that.
    Just take everything one step at a time and remember you can do it!

  2. Pingback: Weekend To-Do List | What. No Mints?

  3. Pingback: 3 Things: Excited for November | What. No Mints?


Leave a Reply

