Kitchen Sink Granola

I’ve been baking up a batch of homemade granola nearly every week since discovering this recipe over at Mason-Dixon Kitchen.

I usually try to come up with flavor combinations that go together (such as pumpkin seed-apple-cranberry or mixed berry with walnuts) but after a while I end up with a bunch of leftover dried fruit and nuts in the bottom of our snack basket that didn’t quite make it into any of the recipes from previous weeks.

Enter what I like to call “kitchen sink” granola – I literally throw everything together, mix in a little agave for sweetness, bake until golden and call it a day!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 2 cups nuts*
  • 2 cups dried fruit*
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • pinch of salt
  • seed scrapings from 1 vanilla bean

*I used a mix of pumpkin seeds, unsweetened coconut flakes, pecan pieces and dried cranberries in this particular batch, but feel free to use whatever you have on hand – This recipe is all about convenience!

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.
  2. Mix all ingredients except dried fruit in a large bowl until combined.
  3. Spread out mixture onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone mat.
  4. Pop in the oven and bake, stirring once, for about 10-15 minutes until fragrant and slightly golden around the edges.
  5. Remove mixture from oven, add dried fruit and stir to incorporate.
  6. Spread mixture out evenly again and return to the oven for another 10-15 minutes or until the oats turn golden brown.
  7. Remove mixture from oven and allow to cool before snacking.
  8. Enjoy!

One comment

  1. I should try my granola with agave syrup, I have a huge bottle but to be honest the stuff kind of intimidates me still. I guess I need to get over that hangup!


Leave a Reply

