New Favorites: Vegetarian Dinners

Jim and I love to incorporate a lot of vegetarian meals into our diets – They are tasty, good for us and are usually cheaper to prepare.

Here are 3 that have quickly risen to the top of our “make again” list!  (click image for recipe)

Crispy Gnocchi with Homemade Pesto: Make a double-batch and enjoy for lunch the next day!

Farfalle with Chipotle, Black Beans and Corn: Sensitive palates – Beware!!  Chiles in adobo make this recipe a HOT one!  P.S. We substituted in sour cream for mayonnaise.

Soba Noodles with Sweet Ginger Scallion Sauce: So easy to put together – Dinner will be ready before you know it!

Do you have any favorite vegetarian dishes you’d like to share with me?

6 comments

  1. Let’s talk about shakshouka and how delicious it is. (I’ve been meaning to write about this properly but I’ve been distracted lately.) This was the rare Pinterest find I ACTUALLY DID instead of just staring at wistfully for a few minutes on my laptop screen.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shakshouka

    This is the recipe I used:

    http://theshiksa.com/2010/07/28/summer-2010-travel-blog-shakshuka/

    I’ve made some modifications:

    1. I added mozzarella cheese on top because I LOVE CHEESE AND ALWAYS WILL
    2. Instead of tomato paste I used gochujang (Korean red chili pepper paste) because it’s tastier and easier to find here.
    3. I am a lazy fuck and just blend the tomato, gochujang, onion, and garlic together all at once and fry them up, instead of the step-by-step process The Shiksa uses. I’m a lazy cook. It tastes all right; as it is it’s a bit watery (I think because of the tomatoes) so I keep upping the amount of gochujang each time to hopefully offset it.

    It’s a great lazy food!


Leave a Reply

