My Scissors …

… decided to up and die on me last night.  Apparently they were not satisfied with the typical life of a pair scissors, which is:

  • Be purchased and released from their ridiculously-difficult-to-open packaging (you presumably purchased new scissors because you don’t have a sufficient pair, which begs the question: How on earth does one expect to get into bomb-proof plastic packaging with an insufficient cutting implement!?).
  • Cut, cut, cut their way through paper and fabric (felt in my case).
  • Become too dull to be used effectively anymore.
  • Get lost somewhere in the back of the junk drawer because you just can’t seem to bring yourself to throw them away (we have a pair of blue-handled scissors like this … they cannot even cut a piece of embroidery floss properly – WHY are we still holding on to them!?).

No, they decided that a more dramatic approach was an order …

Dramatic Scissors

This happened mid-cut – Took me so much by surprise that I let out a small shriek!  The poor yellow Tufted Bird was the only casualty (thank goodness).

Just bought myself a new pair this afternoon, hopefully they work just as well … Now if I can only figure out how to get them out of that damn plastic vault they are so well secured in … I just took them for a test drive, and they are definitely not up to par. ::Sigh::

If you have any odd or surprising crafting mishaps of your own – Feel free to share!

2 comments

  1. Oh my, those scissors went out dramatically! I can’t think of any crafting mishaps off the top of my head (to be honest, that’s probably a good thing!), but I did hear somewhere that packaging engineers have been developing new ways to ship and store items that still protect the product but aren’t as difficult to open as those clamshell-style Fort Knox-wannabes. I have yet to see them on the market, however.

    In the meantime I’ve had good experiences with Fiskar-brand scissors. Hope it helps :)

    • Ahh that is good news about the packaging!

      The scissors that broke are Fiskars and they were awesome to cut felt with – The brand I bought last night was some knock-off at Staples … I should have known that they wouldn’t cut it (ha … ha) – I’ll just have to stop being lazy and make that extra 20 minute drive to the craft store today!


Leave a Reply

